Advice on organization & workflow

I’m new to lexicon and loving it so far. I have a few goals I’d like to accomplish and I’m looking for advice on the best way to go about it. For context I’ve used Serato for a few years now and slowly making the transition to CDJs (rekordbox).

In the past I’ve created playlists/crates by set so my music isn’t really organized at all and lives all over my hard drive :grimacing:. So one of my primary goals is to use Lexicon to organize my music. I think the ideal structure for my music would be /Users/me/Music/DJ Music/genre/subgenre/track.mp3.

I’m thinking I could just move all my music to the watch folder and organize from there. My questions/concerns are, this may leave a lot of my Serato playlists and musics in a broken or lost state. Also I really want to preserve my hotcues/loops/playlist/metadata from Serato. What’s the best way to go about this programmatically and should I import things from Serato (and rekordbox) into lexicon first?

You’re right in that moving your files around will break your playlists.

The way to solve that is to import from Serato first and then let Lexicon move your tracks. Once done, full sync to Serato and Serato will have the same playlists/crates with the new locations, so nothing is broken.

This guide explains how Lexicon can automatically move your tracks in an automatic folder structure.

After reading the guide, this will make more sense:
You can set the first subfolder pattern to Genre and the second to First tag and assuming the first/only tag is the subgenre, you will get the desired folder structure.

Hope that helps! Let me know if you need help with it

1 Like

to me it starts with the source.

The location of the files & their filestructure.

I use the free app called > mp3-tag

I fill in the Title / Artist / Genre / … collums (the more you fill in, the more you can use to organize later on in other apps)