Rekordbox 6 Sync - Does/will Lexicon overwrite existing analysis?

Hi. I’m new to Lexicon and loving it.

My use case is as follows- My main collection is in Traktor and that is where I normally work. I am shifting to Rekordbox slowly with the idea to run on both DJ software for a while before deciding to fully jump.

So far, I have sync’d my whole library to Lexicon. Maintaining this is easy from Traktor to Lexicon and vice a versa. The next thing I have done is sync it fully to Rekordbox 6. This was okay for the most part except a late realisation that I should have converted the keys before syncing across to Rekordbox. The Rekordbox analysis takes years (!), so I still have around 30% of my library in Rekordbox left to analyse for waveforms.

My question is this - If I sync updates in Lexicon to Rekordbox 6, will it merge the changes or overwrite the analysis? For example, if I went for a sync without converting keys, will Lexicon overwrite existing analysis in Rekordbox for the key etc and will Rekordbox lose the waveforms of already analysed tracks?

I’m unsure because I don’t see a merge option for Rekordbox 6.

Thanks.

It should overwrite any changes that Lexicon has. So if Lexicon has a different key then it should send that to RB.
It should not delete any waveform data. If the track is analyzed and has a waveform in RB and then you sync from Lexicon->RB again, both of that should stay. But… I do hear some users mentioning that they are sometimes losing waveforms after a sync. I’ve not been able to confirm that. So I would sync (small) playlists just to be sure about this.

1 Like

Hi Christiaan. Thanks.

Yes, I have sync’d before and it did lose data for some tracks. Hence the question actually. I faced this early in my Rekordbox analysis journey, so it wasn’t a big problem. Now that I am 70% there, I want to be sure.